Skip to content

And The Winner Is …


Having offices in Los Angeles, we would lose our driving privileges if we did not mention the Oscars taking place this Sunday. More important is that on Sunday it is predicted that Kathryn Bigelow (far right) will accept the Oscar for Best Director for The Hurt Locker.

In the 81 year history of the Academy Awards there have only been four women nominated for Best Director. From left to right they include: Lina Wertmuller for Seven Beauties in 1975; Jane Campion for The Piano in 1993; Sofia Coppola for Lost in Translation in 2003; and Kathryn Bigelow.

The Hollywood glass ceiling discussion, similar to other professions, has been going on for decades. One common thread in the general Hollywood discussion is that women can’t direct male-oriented film. Kathyrn Bigelow has shattered that myth; let’s hope the ceiling as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: